Robbery is the taking of property from another individual by the use of intimidation, force, or threat of force. A robbery committed with a weapon or gun is considered armed robbery. The latter has more serious penalties.
NRS 200.380 is the Nevada statute outlawing robbery. In Nevada, robbery is the unlawful taking of an individual’s personal property by means of:
- Fear of injury
- Immediate or future damage or injury to the property or victim
- Injury to the victim’s family
- Harm done to the people in the victim’s company during the robbery
What Will the State of Nevada Have to Prove to Convict Me of Robbery?
The state will have to prove the defendant used fear to:
- Retain or obtain the possession of property
- Prevent or stop any resistance to the taking of property
- Escape the scene where the robbery took place
Does It Matter If I Only Used Slight Force to Commit the Robbery?
No. The amount of force used to commit robbery is not important. It only matters that force is used to make a victim give over the property or to escape with the property.
Is Robbery a Misdemeanor in Nevada?
No. A misdemeanor is usually reserved for minor crimes such as theft. The crime of theft is the taking of property of another with the purpose of permanently depriving them of the property. It does not involve the use of violence, force, or the threat of force to achieve the goal, which is what makes theft a lesser crime when compared to robbery. Thus, in Nevada, robbery is a Category B felony, not a misdemeanor.
What Is the Sentence for Robbery in Nevada?
The minimum criminal sentence in Nevada for robbery is:
- A prison sentence of at least two years and a maximum of 15 years
- $10,000 fine
- Both a prison sentence and a fine
Do I Need a Lawyer for This Charge?
Robbery is a felony, which means that a conviction of robbery comes with a loss of several rights in addition to a significant sentence. Contact a Nevada lawyer for help with your robbery charge.