Robbery is the taking of another person’s personal property by threat of force, use of force, or intimidation. In Texas, robbery is a serious charge that can carry a serious punishment.
How is Robbery Defined in Texas?
A defendant can be charged with robbery when they:
- Steal from another individual or an organization
- Committed the act without permission
- Did it with the intent to permanently deprive the victim of property
- Hurt a victim, either accidentally or intentionally
- Were extremely careless
- Cause injury that occurred during, prior, or after the robbery
What is the Punishment for Robbery in Texas?
Robbery is charged as a second degree felony. A convicted defendant can face 2 to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
What are the Defenses to Robbery?
Some common robbery defenses include:
- True Owner Defense: the defendant believed they were the true owner of the “stolen” property
- Duress: the defendant was forced to commit robbery under threat of death or serious physical harm
- Lack of Evidence: The prosecutor is not able to prove beyond a reasonable doubt the defendant is guilty
- Affirmative Defense: such as, the defendant didn’t cause harm because of extreme carelessness, there’s no robbery.
Should I Contact a Lawyer about My Robbery Charge?
Yes, immediately contact an experienced Texas criminal lawyer to fight your robbery charge.