Armed robbery is a felony theft done by using force, intimidation, or the threat of force while using a deadly weapon. In Texas, the “armed robbery” is called “aggravated robbery.”
How is “Robbery” Defined in Texas?
Robbery is when the defendant, during the process of a theft:
- Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly caused bodily injury to another person; or
- Intentionally or knowingly threatens or places another in fear of imminent bodily injury or death.
When Does a Robbery Charge Become an Aggravated Robbery Charge?
For a robbery to become aggravated robbery, at least one of these elements must occur:
- The defendant seriously injured the victim during the robbery;
- The defendant showed or used a deadly weapon during the offense; or
- The injured victim was either elderly, over the age of 65, or has a physical, mental, or developmental disability.
What is the Penalty for an Aggravated Robbery Conviction in Texas?
Aggravated robbery is charged as a first degree felony, and it’s punishable by 5 to 99 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
What are the Defenses to Aggravated Robbery?
Aggravated robbery defenses include:
- The prosecutor is unable to prove that the defendant committed the aggravated robbery, beyond a reasonable doubt;
- The defendant didn’t intend to steal the property of another, but were only reclaiming their property.
Do I Need a Lawyer to Represent Me in My Aggravated Robbery Charge?
Yes. Contact an criminal defense lawyer in Texas immediately to fight your aggravated robbery charge and avoid the serious punishment connected to the crime.