In Texas, prostitution is a Class A misdemeanor. Prostitution involves the sale of sexual services for something of value. An individual working as a prostitute must offer to engage in sexual conduct in exchange for something of value and solicit someone in a public area. A person convicted of prostitution can face about a year in jail. Also, anyone who forces an individual to become a prostitute in Texas can be charged with compelling prostitution.
What Is Compelling Prostitution?
Compelling prostitution is a crime that occurs if a person knowingly causes an individual to participate in prostitution by threat, force, or fraud. It also occurs when a person causes an individual younger than 18 years old to commit prostitution.
Is Promotion of Prostitution the Same as Compelling a Prostitute in Texas?
No. To promote prostitution, a person must act as a third party to receive compensation on behalf of an individual engaging in prostitution. Generally, all parties are consenting to the act of prostitution. To be charged with compelling a prostitute, a person must force an individual to work as a prostitute.
Does the Punishment for Compelling Prostitution Depend on the Prostitute’s Age?
- Two to 20 years in state prison
- $10,000 fine
- Pay a fine and spend time in state prison
If the person being forced into prostitution is a minor, then the crime is a first degree felony. A person convicted of compelling a minor into prostitution may face:
- Five to 99 years in state prison
- $10,000 fine
- Fine and time in state prison
Should I Contact a Criminal Attorney about My Compelling Prostitution Charge?
You should contact a Texas criminal attorney about your compelling prostitution charge. Your criminal attorney will discuss your legal rights and defenses.