Texas Unlawful Possession of Body or Metal Armor by a Felon Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Are Felons Prohibited from Possessing in Texas?
Criminal possession of a weapon is prohibited in Texas for certain people convicted of felony crimes. For example, a person convicted of a felony in the state cannot possess a firearm for five years after leaving prison or ending community supervision. Texas also prohibits certain individuals from possessing metal or other body armor. This law is called “unlawful possession of metal or body armor by a felon.”
Is This Crime the Same as Unlawful Possession of a Firearm in Texas?
No, they are separate crimes. Unlawful possession of a firearm refers to not being allowed to have any type of firearm such as a:
- Firearm weapon
The unlawful possession of metal armor focuses only of the armor a convicted is not allow to possess in Texas.
What Does Texas Consider Metal or Body Armor?
The state defines “metal or body armor” as anything covering the body specifically designed, adapted, or made to protect someone against gunfire.
Is Unlawful Possession of Metal or Body Armor by a Felon a Misdemeanor Charge in Texas?
Unlawful possession of metal or body armor is not a misdemeanor. Instead, it is a third degree felony.
What Is the Punishment for Having Body Armor While Being a Convicted Felon?
Punishment for having body or metal armor as a convicted felon is:
- Two to 10 years in state prison
- $10,000 fine
- Both a fine and state prison time
Do I Need a Lawyer to Represent in My Criminal Case?
Unlawful possession of body or metal armor is a serious crime in Texas, and is a difficult charge to fight against. If you have been charged with unlawful possession of body or metal armor, contact a Texas criminal lawyer immediately for help.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 09-16-2016 11:08 AM PDT
Link to this page