In Georgia, larceny is known as theft by taking. Larceny is the crime of taking property belonging to someone else without their permission. The perpetrator takes the property with the intent to permanently deprive the individual of their belongings. To deprive refers to keeping, giving, selling, or bartering away the property. If a person attempts to bring the property that they have stolen into Georgia, then they will face an additional criminal charge.
Can I Get in Trouble for Simply Bringing Stolen Property into Georgia?
Yes. Georgia has criminalized the act of bringing stolen property across state lines. The crime is called “theft by bringing stolen property into state.” A person commits this kind of theft by bringing stolen property into Georgia they know or should know has been stolen from another state.
Is This Crime the Same as Receiving Stolen Property in Georgia?
No. Georgia has a separate law for the crime of receiving stolen property, which is known as “theft by receiving stolen property.” The crime of theft by receiving stolen property focuses on buying or accepting stolen property. Under this law, it is illegal to buy or accept any property stolen if the person knew or should have known that the property was stolen. Rather than purchasing stolen property that is already in Georgia, the crime of theft by bringing stolen property into state revolves around crossing the border into Georgia while the stolen property is already in one’s possession.
Is Theft by Bringing Stolen Property into State a Misdemeanor or a Felony?
This crime can be either a felony or a misdemeanor, but what type of crime it is depends on the value of the stolen property. If the value of the stolen property is determined to exceed $1,500, then the crime is a felony. For property valued at $1,500 or less, the crime is a misdemeanor.
What Kind of Punishment Will I Face for a Misdemeanor?
Under Georgia law, a person may be sentenced to a maximum of 12 months in county jail for committing a misdemeanor crime. They may also be required to pay a $1,000 fine.
Do I Need a Lawyer’s Help for My Charge?
Legal representation is necessary whenever one is facing a misdemeanor theft charge. Contact a Georgia lawyer right away to learn how you can fight your charge and avoid a lengthy jail sentence.