Theft is the unauthorized taking of another person’s property with the intent to permanently deprive the victim of their property. “Taking” refers to seizing control of the property. Typically, theft is considered a misdemeanor, but in the State of Washington, some thefts can be charged as a felony.
What is Felony Theft in Washington State?
Felony theft involves taking a person’s property, money, or series without their permission. Felony theft isn’t one type of charge, but can include crimes such as:
What Makes Theft a Felony in Washington State?
The amount of the goods, services, or property stolen makes the charge a misdemeanor or felony. For example, a gross misdemeanor is intentionally stealing property, money, or services belonging to another individual at a value of less than $250.
However, felony theft occurs when the property, services, or money valued at more than $250 is unlawfully taken. First degree felony theft is when the taking was more than $5,000 and second degree is when the taking was more than $5,000.
What is the Punishment for Felony Theft in Washington State?
For first degree felony theft, the punishment is up to 10 years in jail and a $20,000 fine. For second degree felony theft, the punishment is up to 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Should I Talk to a Criminal Lawyer Regarding My Felony Theft Charge?
Yes, it’s important to talk to a washington criminal lawyer immediately regarding your felony theft charge. The lawyer will inform you about possible defenses you can use to fight the charge.