Breaking and entering into a structure for the purpose of committing another crime is considered burglary. Traditionally, burglary applies to any type of structure, from a building to a motor home. However, in Washington State, there’s a more specific criminal act focused on entering a vehicle with the purpose of committing a crime, known as vehicle prowling.
The difference between a charge of first degree vs. second degree vehicle prowling depends on the vehicle. If the boat or vehicle has sleeping quarters or could be lived in, then a defendant charged with first degree vehicle prowling. Second degree is charged when there’s no cooking facilities or sleeping quarters in the vehicle.
A first degree charge is a class C felony and a second degree charge is a gross misdemeanor.
A charge of first degree vehicle prowling is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. For a charge of vehicle prowling in the second degree, a defendant can face a punishment of less than 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
Yes. Contact a Washington lawyer to understand more about possible defenses and getting the charge dropped or reduced.
Last Modified: 06-25-2018 06:46 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.