Theft is the wrongful assumption or possession of another person’s property. The theft is often done by taking and carrying away the property with the intent to permanently deprive the individual of their property. In Washington State, one type of theft is called shoplifting.
Shoplifting is defined as stealing goods from a retailer.
Yes. The State bases the severity of the shoplifting charge on the value of the goods stolen.
No. Robbery involves taking property from another person or retailer, but with the use of force, threat of force, or violence. Whereas shoplifting only involves taking property, or goods, from a retailer without force.
In Washington state, a shoplifting charge is typically a misdemeanor charge. It can be a simple misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor. But the severity of the charge depends on the value of the item that was shoplifted.
Yes. The state can charge a defendant with felony shoplifting if the defendant shoplifted an item valued more than $5,000.
The specific criminal sentence depends on facts surrounding the shoplifting. For example, third degree misdemeanor shoplifting is punishable by up to a year in county jail and/or a fine of $5,000. Third degree shoplifting conviction is when a defendant shoplifted goods valued at less than $750.
A second degree shoplifting conviction is a punishment for stealing goods valued at more than $750, but less than $5,000. It’s a class C felony and is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.
First degree shoplifting is considered a class B felony and is when the defendant shoplifted an item valued at over $5,000. It is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $20,000.
Yes. A shoplifting charge has serious consequences. To discover the best defense to use in your case, talk to a criminal lawyer.
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 02:56 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.