Theft is the taking of property from another individual without their consent and with the intent to permanently deprive them of the property. It encompasses several different types of crimes, such as larceny, burglary, false pretenses, and embezzlement. In Nevada, anyone who receives property obtained through a theft crime can be arrested for the crime of receiving stolen goods.
When Is a Person Guilty of Receiving Stolen Goods in Nevada?
A person is guilty of receiving stolen goods when they obtain the property and/or prevent the property’s owner from gaining the property back by:
- Buying, receiving, possessing, or withholding property while either
- Knowing that the property is stolen or
- Under such circumstances that would cause a reasonable person to know that the property was stolen
What Is the Punishment for Receiving Stolen Goods?
The type of punishment depends on the value of the property, although all sentences will include paying restitution to the victim. For instance, property valued less than $650 is a misdemeanor punished by six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. If the property is valued between $650 and $3,500, then the crime is a Category C felony, which is punishable by:
- One to five years in prison
- A $10,00 fine
- Both a fine and time in prison
Possession of stolen property valued at $3,500 or more or stolen firearms is a Category B felony punishable by:
- One to 10 years in prison
- $10,000 fine
- A prison sentence and a fine
Should I Contact an Attorney about My Charge of Receiving of Stolen Goods?
Being charged with receiving of stolen goods will leave you facing time in jail. It is important to contact a Nevada criminal attorney for help in positively resolving your criminal charge.