There are numerous state and federal laws available to protect Michigan workers’ rights. In order to understand what rights are available to them, people who are working in Michigan should take the time to read and understand these laws.
Is There a Difference between Part-Time and Full-Time in Michigan?
Similar to many states, Michigan has not designated a set amount of time that an employee must work in order for them to be considered a full-time employee instead of a part-time employee. This means that all of the state- and federal-mandated employee benefits apply to all employees, regardless of whether they are full-time or part-time.
What Is Michigan’s Minimum Wage?
Michigan’s minimum wage is $8.90 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum wage is $3.38 per hour. For employees between 16-19 years old, during training the minimum wage is $4.25 for the first 90 days. Anyone between 16 and 17 years old will be paid $7.57 per hour.
In 2018 Michigan will raise the minimum wage to $9.25 per hour. The minimum wage for tipped employees will go up to $3.52 per hour. For employees who are 16-17 years old, the minimum wage will go up to $7.86 per hour.
Michigan overtime laws follow the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of paying 1 and ½ times the regular pay if you work over 40 hours per week. Like the majority of other states, Michigan does not limit mandatory overtime. Thus, an employee can be required to work as much overtime as requested by their employer.
Employers in Michigan at subject to the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA). Under the ACA, any employer that has more than 50 or more full-time employees must offer health insurance to at least 95% of its full-time employees. This plan must cover at least 60% of typical health costs and must also be provided to any of the covered employee’s dependents who are 26 or younger. If your company has less than 50 employees, then the company is not required to provide health insurance to anyone.
In Michigan, employers are prohibited from discriminating against employees by both the federal Civil Rights Act and Michigan’s Elliott Larsen Civil Rights Act. Employees cannot be discriminated against in the workplace for their age, race, gender, marital status, disability, color, religion, height, national origin, or weight.
If you have been discriminated against by an employer, you can file a complaint with either the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) or the Michigan Civil Rights Commission (MCRC). As with any legal matter, you need to keep in mind that there are certain time limits and other constraints that apply to filing a complaint.
Michigan follows the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which only applies to companies that have 50 or more employees and engage in business in more than one state. FMLA guarantees an employee up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave, medical and health benefits during the leave that they received while working, and the right to return to their former position upon their return.
Michigan does not have any separate state laws governing sick or vacation leave. Thus, aside from the Family and Medical Leave Act, it is up to each company to determine whether to offer more vacation or sick leave than mandated by federal law.
Where Can I Find a Local Employment Lawyer to Help Me?
Employment law is a difficult area of law to understand, despite the fact that it has a major impact on your life. If you think that your employer has violated Michigan’s labor laws, you should contact a Michigan employment lawyer immediately.