Being paid for the work you do is a basic part of your role as an employee. When issues come up with your paycheck, it is important you understand what the Nevada wage and hour laws are. Your employer has responsibilities under these laws towards you in regard to your paycheck and must meet them.
When Must Paychecks Be Sent Out?
Without a written agreement stating a different pay schedule, employers in Nevada should be paying the majority of their employees on a semimonthly basis. An exception to this requirement exists wherein an outside salesperson, an administrative employee, an executive employee, a supervisor, or a professional employee may be paid monthly, but only if the employer’s headquarters and payroll department are located outside of Nevada. These requirements apply to hourly and salaried employees equally. A company does, however, have the freedom to choose to pay their employers more often than semimonthly or monthly.
What Happens If I Am Fired?
If you have been fired, you should be given your final paycheck immediately. For employees who quit their job, they should receive their last paycheck by the next payday or within 7 days, whichever one comes first. Nevada does not require employers to pay their employees any saved-up vacation or sick days. However, if paying out these benefits is part of the company policy, then they will have to follow that policy.
Can My Paycheck Be Garnished?
Your income can be garnished, even without a court judgment, to pay for child support arrears, unpaid taxes, or defaulted student loans. For all other personal financial obligations, especially unpaid bills, your creditor has to sue you in court first before they can get at your wages. If the creditor wins their lawsuit, then they can garnish your wages until the debt is paid off.
Your employer cannot deduct money from your paycheck unless it is for your benefit, such as deductions for insurance premiums or payments into a retirement fund. Even if the deduction is for your benefit, your employer will still need your written consent before they take that money out of your check.
Can I Recover a Withheld Paycheck?
Withheld paychecks can be a very serious issue, and your employer can get into a lot of trouble if they choose to not pay you on time. If your employer is not providing you with a paycheck that you are owed, you can file a complaint with the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner or a lawsuit with the court.
Is There Anything Else I Need to Know?
Your employer cannot make you pay for your uniform or to have it cleaned if it requires special cleaning. Unlike uniforms, there is no law prohibiting your employer requiring you to pay for medical tests before being hired, so they may expect you to cover this cost. Also, your employer can give you meals as part of your compensation instead of wages if you agree to it in your contract, but the amount cannot exceed more than $1.50 per day for non-agricultural employees.
Where Can I Find the Right Lawyer?
If your employer is violating Nevada’s wage and hour laws and you are not getting your wages, a Nevada employment lawyer can assist you in fighting for your earned paycheck. They will help you confront your employer and obtain the money you earned.