Maryland Labor Lawyers
Locate a Local Employment Lawyer
Labor Laws of Maryland
Maryland is required to abide by all federal labor regulations as specified by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Every state is legally permitted to add additional state regulations to supplement the federal code as lawmakers see fit. Maryland also has some state laws the expand the federal protection.
Part-time vs. Full-time
Full-time employment vs. part-time employment is not defined by the State. Currently, the difference between part-time and full-time employment applies to whether the employer must give benefits under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). But due to changes in the ACA, it is unclear whether this difference will continue. Otherwise, looking just under the state law, Maryland does not have a distinction between full-time and part-time employment.
|July 1, 2017||$9.25|
|July 1, 2018||$10.10|
Whereas the minimum wage for Prince George and Montgomery counties will increase to $11.50 on October 1, 2017.
Maryland must comply with federal regulations regarding overtime. This means that when any employee works more than 40 hours a week, or a consecutive 7-day period, they must be paid 1 ½ times their regular hourly rate.
Health benefits in Maryland are regulated by both federal regulation and the Insurance article of the Maryland Code. Subtitle 8 of Section 5 is the area of law that outlines state policies. The Maryland Insurance Administration regulates and enforces these laws. All disputes and appeals are filed with this government body.
While Maryland adheres to the federal law barring employment discrimination, the State law also expands it even further. In addition to the basis of race, color, religion, etc. They also include:
- Genetic information, or refusal to submit to a genetic test;
- Sexual orientation; and
- Gender Identity.
Maryland also forbids employers from retaliating if their employees file a complaint due to a violation of the State law.
Overall, Maryland employers are not required to offer sick-leave to their employees. But, under the State law of the Paternal Leave Act, employers with 15 to 49 employers to provide up to 6 weeks of unpaid leave if an employee has a life event such a birth or and adoption/placement of a foster child.
If the employer has more than 49 employees, then the employer must follow the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) which has its own set of requirements.
Where Can I Find the Right Lawyer?
If you believe your employer has violated state or federal employment law, contact a Maryland employment lawyer to better understand your situation.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 03-22-2017 10:57 PM PDT
Link to this page