Each state has laws that control and regulate all issues regarding employee paychecks. The laws generally cover when an employee should be paid, what happens if the employee is fired, and if there are any reasons why an employer can withhold money from a paycheck. While the laws can overlap, they can also vary from state to state so it is important to know the differences that apply to your state.
In Connecticut, An employer must pay its employees on a weekly basis of all wages due on a regular payday designated by the employer. The paycheck period must be no later than 8 days after the end of the pay period. If the regular payday falls on a non-work day, the wages must be paid on the next working day.
In Connecticut, if an employee is fired, the employee must be paid a paycheck on the next business day. The procedures for being laid off, quitting, or being fired is different. If an employee quits, they will receive their paycheck on the next regular pay period.
Unlike some other states, Connecticut employers do not have to pay the employee their unused vacation time. There isn't any set a state law established that requires an employer to pay their employees any unused vacation time.
Under Connecticut law, an employee's paycheck can be garnished. The law limits how much creditors can garnish of your wages to repay debts like unpaid taxes, child support, or settlements. Connecticut wage garnishment laws are considered stricter than federal wage garnishment laws, which means that state law will control.
While creditors can also garnish your wages, they can take only up to 25% if they want to garnish your wages for unpaid debt. However, there are few types of debt, where creditors can take more. Creditors can garnish paychecks more than the limits set for the following types of unpaid debt:
There are no events under which an employer can entirely withhold a final paycheck under Connecticut law. Employers are required to pay the employee their wages due when the pay period has arrived. If your employer has held your paycheck illegally, you can file a complaint with the CT Department of Labor, Wage and Workplace Standards Division. You can do this by filling out a form. It doesn’t cost you anything and you do not need an attorney
If your employer has withheld an amount from your final paycheck or have other paycheck related issues, a local Connecticut employment lawyer a may be able to help. The laws in your state might prohibit a withholding and you may have a strong claim.
Last Modified: 03-22-2017 11:20 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.