In Kansas, federal labor laws act provide the basic rights to employees, while state laws can only provide addition rights on top of the rights guaranteed by federal law. Thus, Kansas state labor laws act as a supplement to federal labor laws.
What Is Part-Time vs. Full-Time in Kansas?
The difference between full-time employment and part-time employment in Kansas is not defined by the state government, nor is it defined by the federal government. Instead, it is up to the individual employer to come up the guidelines of constitutes full-time vs. part-time work.
What Is the Minimum Wage in Kansas?
Currently, the minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25 an hour. This is the same rate as the federal minimum wage as stated in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
According to Kansas state law, an employee can only work 46 hours in a single 7-day week, and any time over that is defined as overtime. Under the FLSA, a standard workweek is only 40 hours in a consecutive 7-day period, but this only applies to employers that participate in interstate commerce or whose annual sales total is at least $500,000. Additional hours worked in these periods entitle an employee to be paid time and a half, which is 1.5 times the employee’s regular rate. However, certain employees, such as executives and other higher-up salaried employees, are exempt from overtime pay.
Kansas employers with 50 or more full-time employees are obligated under the federal Affordable Care Act (ACA) to make health insurance available to their full-time employees. Otherwise, employers are not required to provide any health benefits to their employees under either federal or Kansas state law.
Employees in Kansas are protected by federal and state prohibitions against personal characteristic discrimination. It is illegal for Kansas employers to make employment decisions based on the employee’s gender, race, age, color, ancestry, disability, religion, or country of national origin.
The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) grants employees the right to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave that they can use to deal with a medical emergency or to take care of family members who have having health problems. Kansas does not have any additional employment leave requirements specific to the state.
Where Can I Find a Local Employment Lawyer to Help Me?
If you believe that your employer has violated your rights, you should contact a Kansas employment lawyer immediately. A lawyer will help you make your best case and represent you throughout the legal process.