Nevada provides employees with many different protections from employer abuse. While these laws are complex, this is a brief overview.
Part-time vs. Full-time
Nevada does not distinguish between “part-time” and “full-time” employment. However, the number of hours that you work can impact whether you receive overtime pay. Your employer is required to track your hours but you should also track the time you spend working.
Currently, Nevada’s minimum wage is set at $8.25 per hour. However, if an employer offers qualifying health benefits the hourly minimum wage rate lowers to $7.25. Review your employment agreement to determine what benefits (if any) are offered to you by your employer.
Overtime pay for most employees in Nevada is time-and-a-half. Therefore, works earning the minimum wage rate of $8.25 per hour would receive $12.38 per hour. Overtime calculations can get complicated for employees that are expected to work odd hours and there are multiple exemptions from Nevada’s minimum overtime pay requirements.
In Nevada, an employer may not discriminate against an employee for any of the following reasons:
- National origin,
- Sexual orientation,
- Age (over 40), and
Employment discrimination is a serious issue. If you believe that you have been discriminated against by your employer, then you should contact your attorney immediately to discuss your case.
Under certain circumstances Nevada law requires employers to provide their employees with benefits. However, benefits are generally governed by agreement between the employer and employee. If you do not know what benefits you are entitled to or if you do not understand your employment agreement, then you should contact your employment lawyer.
Where Can I Find the Right Lawyer to Help Me?
Contact your Nevada local lawyer if you have questions about your wages, overtime pay, discrimination or any other employment related concerns. Your lawyer will be able to explain all your rights and options under Nevada employment law.