Find the right lawyer now

Federal Court SSA Appeal Lawyers

Find a Local Government Lawyer near You

Appealing the Social Security Administration's (SSA) decision about your benefits consists of four stages.  The first three stages are Reconsideration, Administrative Law Hearing, and Appeals Council Review.  If you disagree with the first three decisions made by the SSA, you may file a civil lawsuit in federal court.  This is the last level of the appeals course of action.

How Do I File a Civil Lawsuit in Federal Court?

If you choose to sue the SSA, your lawsuit must be filed within 60 days of receiving the determination letter from the Appeals Council.  You or your attorney, if you choose to have one, will have to file the lawsuit in the federal court for your judicial district where you reside.  You will have to pay a fee to file your case in the federal court. 

What Evidence Will the Federal Court Use?

The court will review all of the evidence and earlier proceedings held by the SSA.  The SSA will provide all the evidence and documents they used to make their decision.  However, the court will not conduct a hearing as to your medical condition. 

How Long Will It Take for the Federal Court to Rule?

Generally, a suit against the SSA will take 1-3 years before a ruling is made.  An attorney can advise you of the current timeframes.

Do I Need a Lawyer?

Initiating a lawsuit in federal court is a very complex process with countless rules and procedures.  A government attorney experienced with taking legal action against the SSA can prepare, file, and litigate your suit. 

Photo of page author Ken LaMance

, LegalMatch Law Library Managing Editor and Attorney at Law

Last Modified: 04-02-2018 07:53 PM PDT

Law Library Disclaimer
  • No fee to present your case
  • Choose from lawyers in your area
  • A 100% confidential service
What is LegalMatch?

We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.