Ecstasy is considered an illegal drug. As a Schedule I Drug, it is highly addictive and has no medical use. Possession of ecstasy is considered a crime. In California, possessing ecstasy for sale is punishable by 16 months in county jail. But there are also fines and penalties for using, intending to sell, manufacturing, and distributing the drug.
Drug distribution is defined as the sale, transfer, import, exchange or export of illegal drugs. To transport the drug means to move it from one location to another.
In California, transporting or selling ecstasy is defined as attempting or completing any of the offenses listed:
Selling ecstasy is a felony. A convicted defendant can be punished with a fine of up to $10,000 and 2 to 4 years in prison, or 6 to 9 years if the ecstasy is transported across more than two county lines
But if the court knows that the defendant supplied ecstasy to someone they knew or should have known was:
Then the court will be inclined to impose the maximum punishment allowed under the law.
Some common defenses used in ecstasy criminal cases are:
Yes. Talk to a criminal lawyer about the best way to fight your drug charge.
Last Modified: 08-18-2017 03:12 AM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.