Wyoming is one of the few states that have a separate age of consent for females and males. The age of consent for sex is 16 years old for women, while it is 18 years old for men. Having sex with a minor below the age of consent is known as statutory rape.
The age of consent law in Wyoming only specifically addresses heterosexual conduct. So, it is uncertain whether there is an age of consent for sodomy.
Wyoming, like other states, makes allowances for partners who are under the age of consent, but close to the same age. The general allowable age gap is 4 years. Hence, a minor who is 12 or older can legally consent to sex with a person who is no more than 4 years older.
Violations of Wyoming’s age of consent laws will result in strict punishments. Violators may be incarcerated for up to 20 years in prison.
If you are accused of rape or are a victim of rape, then a criminal lawyer can help you. An experienced lawyer can either clear your name or help you seek legal recourse. He can help you file the appropriate paperwork in court and speak on your behalf.
Last Modified: 04-26-2018 01:19 AM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.