The age of consent refers to the minimum age of a person who can legally consent to having sexual intercourse with another person. This generally pertains to minors and their causes of action for statutory rape.
In Nevada, the age of consent for heterosexual conduct is 16 years old. For homosexual conduct, the age of consent is 18. This makes Nevada one of the few states that have explicitly permitted homosexual conduct by creating an age of consent for it.
However, as in most other states, Nevada law makes allowances for situations in which one or both partners are below the age of consent, but are very close to the same age.
Prosecutions are usually limited to situations in which the offender is over the age of 18. So, as long as both partners are under the age of 18, and they are reasonably close to the same age, it is unlikely that any prosecution will result in Nevada.
If you are accused of rape or are a victim of rape, then a criminal lawyer can help you. An experienced lawyer can either clear your name or help you seek legal recourse. He can help you file the appropriate paperwork in court and speak on your behalf.
Last Modified: 10-10-2016 05:07 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.