Rape is defined as the unlawful sexual intercourse between parties. What makes the sexual intercourse unlawful is a lack of consent on the victim’s part to engage in the sexual intercourse. Thus, the sexual intercourse was done against the victim’s will. It is also illegal to engage in sexual intercourse when the victim is unable to consent to sex because they are too young to give consent.
What Is Georgia’s Statutory Rape Law?
Statutory rape is a crime in Georgia. A person commits statutory rape when they engage in sexual intercourse with anyone under 16 years old who is not their spouse.
What If the Alleged Victim Gives Consent?
Any individual under the age of 16 years old in Georgia cannot legally give consent to engage in sexual intercourse. This is because anyone below the age of 16 is considered a minor under this law, and a minor is incapable of providing consent.
What If There Was No Force Involved?
It is still statutory rape even if the perpetrator did not use force to engage in sexual conduct with the victim. Statutory rape does not require any force, threat of force, or violence.
Can I Be Charged with Statutory Rape If the Victim Lied about Their Age?
Yes. Even if victim lied about their age and claimed to be over the age of consent, the perpetrator can still be charged with statutory rape. In the eyes of the law, it is each person’s responsibility to determine the real age of their partner prior to having sex with them.
What Is the Punishment for Statutory Rape in Georgia?
The exact criminal punishment that a defendant may face depends on both the age of the defendant and the age of the victim. If the offender is 21 years or older, they are guilty of a felony and face a punishment of 10 to 20 years in prison and potential mandatory registration as a sex offender. A defendant is also guilty of a felony if they are between 18 and 21 years of age or if they are under the age of 18 and the victim is under the age of 16, but their potential punishment is only imprisonment of one to 20 years. If the offender is 18 years old or younger and the victim was 14 to 16 years old, then the defendant is only charged with a misdemeanor, for which the maximum punishment is one year in county jail.
Should I Contact a Criminal Lawyer?
You should consult with a Georgia criminal defense lawyer because a statutory rape charge is complicated and requires the assistance of a lawyer to understand. You need to be aware of your legal rights and what defenses may be available in your case.