Nevada Sexual Assault of a Minor Attorneys
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is Sexual Assault in Nevada?
In Nevada, sexual assault is penetration or touching of a sexual nature that is done without consent. The state has separate sexual assault penalties depending on the age of the victim and whether any serious bodily harm was done to them. For instance, if the sexual assault victim is an adult, a person faces life with the possibility of parole after 10 years. They also face life in prison without the possibility of parole when the victim sustained serious bodily injury.
What Is the Age of Consent in Nevada?
Age of consent is the age at which a person is considered old enough to legally consent to sex. In Nevada, that age is 16. Anyone below the age of 16 is considered a minor, and sexual assault against them is treated as a separate crime than if they were 16 or older.
Does Nevada Separate Sexual Assault Penalties Depending on a Minor’s Age?
Yes. The state separates the criminal penalties for the accused into two categories. One category is for minors who are 14 and 15, and the other category is for minors who are under 14 years old. However, if the minor suffers serious bodily injury, the sentence for committing sexual assault against a minor is life without parole, regardless of the age of the minor.
What Is Serious Bodily Injury?
Serious bodily injury is any type of physical harm that is permanent or that an individual cannot recover from within a year, such as:
- Serious cuts
- Permanent scarring or disfigurement
- Paralyzed or lost limbs
What Is the Penalty If the Victim Did Not Suffer Serious Bodily Harm?
If the victim was either 14 or 15 years old and they did not suffer from serious bodily harm, the perpetrator will face life with the possibility of parole after 25 years. If the victim was under 14 years of age, then the defendant faces life with the possibility of parole after 35 years.
Should I Contact an Attorney?
A sexual assault charge carries the possibility of being locked up in prison for the rest of your life. To avoid such a fate, it is advised that you contact a Nevada attorney immediately if you are charged with sexual assault.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 10-11-2016 09:54 AM PDT
Link to this page