In Texas, the age of consent is 17 years old. The age of consent is gender neutral and applies the same to both heterosexual and homosexual conduct.
Like many other states, Texas does not enforce harsh penalties for individuals who has sex with someone under 17 as long as that person is not more than 3 years older than the minor. However, unlike other states, there is a provision that specifically states that the close-in-age exception does not apply to people who are required to register for life as sex offenders.
If you have sex with someone under 17 years old and are not married to him or her, you might be charged with indecency with a child, which is a second degree felony. If you have sex with someone younger than 14 years old then that can be considered aggravated sexual assault and is a felony in the first degree.
Punishment for a second degree felony can range from 2 to 20 years, while punishment for a first degree felony can range from 5 years to life.
If you have been accused of statutory rape you should speak with a lawyer immediately. Don't be added to a sexual predator list - find an experienced criminal defense attorney who will be able to advise you of your rights, help you with a defense, and advise you as to what options may be open to you. LegalMatch has numerous defense attorneys in major Texas cities such as Houston available now to assist you!
Last Modified: 12-20-2017 12:31 AM PSTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.