Forgery is the altering, creating, imitating, or forging of a document with the intent to defraud another individual. In Texas, a person will be charged with forgery when they forge a writing with the intent to harm or defraud someone else.
What Does “Forge” Mean in the Texas Forgery Law?
The term “forge” refers to:
of a writing.
What Does “Writing” Refer to?
Writing can refer to:
- Money, stamps, tokens, coins, seals, badges, trademarks, or credit cards
- Any method of recorded information
- Symbols of value, privilege, identification, right
What Punishment Will I Face If I Am Convicted for the First Time?
A first-time conviction of forgery in Texas is usually a Class A misdemeanor. Under a Class A misdemeanor, a person faces:
- About one year in county jail
- $4,000 fine
- County jail time and fine
Can I Face a Harsher Sentence?
Yes. It is a state jail felony if a person is found to have forged one of the following:
- Deed of trust
- Security agreement
- Credit card
- Debit card
A state jail felony punishment may include:
- 180 days to two years in state jail
- $10,000 fine
- State jail time and a fine
It is also a felony in the third degree if the writing forged was an issue of money, revenue stamps, government record or securities. A third degree felony is punishable by:
- Two to 10 years in state prison
- $10,000 fine
- Fine and prison time
Should I Contact a Lawyer about My Texas Forgery Case?
You should absolutely reach out to a Texas criminal attorney if you are facing a forgery charge. A lawyer will represent you and determine the best defenses to fight your case.