Washington State Commercial Sexual Abuse of a Minor Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
How is "Sex Abuse" Defined?
Sex abuse is any sexual act done with the intent to humiliate, abuse, harass, or degrade the victim, as well as arouse the sexual desire of the defendant. A victim of sexual abuse can be an adult or minor. But in Washington State, a person can be arrested for sex abuse with a minor.
What is Sexual Abuse of a Minor?
In general, sexual abuse is when an individual abuses another person under the age of 18.
What Do Prosecutors Have to Prove to Convict Me of Commercial Sex Abuse with a Minor?
The state has to prove that the defendant:
- Paid a minor or third-person a fee for compensation to engage in sexual conduct;
- Paid or agreed to pay a fee to a third person or minor with the understanding that the fee was for sexual conduct with the minor; or
- Offered, solicited, or requested to engage in sexual conduct with a minor for a fee
Is it a Defense that the Minor Gave Consent to the Sexual Conduct?
No. According to the State law, it doesn’t matter if the minor consented to the sexual conduct or not.
What is the Punishment for Commercial Sexual Abuse of a Minor?
Commercial sexual abuse of a minor is charged as a class B felony, and it’s punishable by up to 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine. The offender must register as a sex offender for at least 15 years. The defendant will also face probation after completing their prison sentence, as well as a sex offender treatment program.
Should I Contact a Lawyer?
Yes, it’s vital to have an criminal lawyer representing you while fighting a serious sex crime charge.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 08-04-2016 08:16 AM PDT
Link to this page