Sexual assault is generally defined as sexual touching or contact made by force, threat of force, or violence that is done without consent of the victim.
In New Hampshire, it is defined as a sexual act directed at another individual that is against the individual’s will or the individual is unable to give consent. A sexual assault crime in the state includes the act being done for the purpose of gratification or sexual arousal of the offender or victim’s humiliation.
Rape in New Hampshire can refer to an aggravated felonious sexual assault or sexual assault. An aggravated felonious sexual assault charge depends on circumstances of the case including:
Felonious sexual assault is a Class B felony. It generally includes a criminal sentence ranging from three and half years to seven years in prison. Aggravated sexual assault carries a maximum sentence of 20 years in prison.
Yes. A misdemeanor sexual assault charge is any unwanted touching.
Yes, if the sexual assault happened during an outdoor sporting activity like fishing or hunting. New Hampshire law allows the offender’s hunting or fishing license to be suspended for five years to life.
Yes, talk to a New Hampshire criminal lawyer about your sexual assault charge. Your lawyer will work to get your case reduced or dismissed.
Last Modified: 06-20-2018 10:42 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.