Manslaughter is the unlawful killing of an individual done without the planning and/or intent to kill. Instead, the killing is done with total disregard for human life or recklessness. Nevada has two statutes devoted to making the unlawful killing of a human being without planning or intent a felony crime.
How Is Voluntary Manslaughter Defined in Nevada?
The state defines voluntary manslaughter as the act of killing someone due to an irresistible passion a person could not overcome. This irresistible passion is commonly called “heat of passion.”
Does Vehicular Manslaughter Fall into the Category of Voluntary Manslaughter?
No. In Nevada, vehicular manslaughter is a separate criminal charge. Vehicular manslaughter is the unintentional act of killing someone because of illegal driving. The reason vehicular manslaughter is usually considered an unintentional act, or without malice, is because of their actions while driving. These actions include:
- Gross negligence
- Extreme carelessness
- Drunk driving
- Reckless driving
Is Voluntary Manslaughter a Misdemeanor or Felony?
The crime of voluntary manslaughter is a Category B felony in the state of Nevada.
What Is the Punishment for Voluntary Manslaughter in Nevada?
A voluntary manslaughter conviction will result in a criminal sentence consisting of:
- One to 10 years in prison
- $10,000 fine
- Fine and prison time
Do I Need an Attorney to Represent Me?
Like with all felony crimes, you will probably need a lawyer’s help with defending yourself against a charge of voluntary manslaughter. If you are facing a voluntary manslaughter charge in Nevada, contact a Nevada criminal attorney to represent you in your case.