The unlawful homicide of another person that does not rise to murder, is called manslaughter. While homicide is the unlawful killing of a human being, manslaughter is a homicide with some mitigating circumstances to make it a less serious charge than murder. In general, there are two types of manslaughter. Voluntary manslaughter is a homicide that occurs because of adequate provocation and involuntary manslaughter is a homicide that occurs because of criminal negligence.
Second degree manslaughter occurs when a person dies due to the defendant’s criminal negligence.
Manslaughter in the first degree occurs when a defendant recklessly causes someone’s death or causes bodily injury to a mother and kills her unborn child. First degree manslaughter is a class A felony, which carries the strongest possible punishment under Washington State law.
A defendant convicted of second degree manslaughter will face penalties associated with a class B felony. It’s punishable by up to 10 years in state prison and a fine of up to $20,000.
Yes. It’s important to discuss your criminal charge with a Washington riminal lawyer to understand how you can resolve this charge.
Last Modified: 06-25-2018 06:43 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.