Intoxication manslaughter is the legal term for what an individual may be charged with following a fatal vehicle crash while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Even if the accused driver was technically not at fault for the crash, he or she may still be charged with intoxication manslaughter, also called vehicular manslaughter in some states.
The difference between homicide and manslaughter is that the former requires a motive, premeditation, or conscious act, while manslaughter requires criminal negligence which resulted in death. If an individual has any prior DUI convictions, he or she may be charged with murder.
In California, this crime is known as “Watson murder” and carries a minimum sentence of 15 years to life in prison. A defendant will face murder charges under the premise that they had already been warned of the risk of driving under the influence from their previous arrest and conviction.
Most states have some type of intoxication manslaughter or vehicular manslaughter statute. In Texas, intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony with prison sentences ranging from 2 to 20 years, in addition to fines and hundreds of hours of community service.
If the victim was an on-duty firefighter, peace officer, or an emergency medical services provider, the charge would be a first-degree felony, with penalties of 5 years to life in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Intoxication manslaughter can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances of the case. Usually, if there are other aggravating factors to an intoxication manslaughter charge, such as driving without a license or reckless driving, an individual may be charged with a felony.
If the charge was a first offense with no aggravating factors and no injuries or death, it may be charged as a misdemeanor.
The penalties for intoxication manslaughter vary from state to state, and depend on whether the person is charged with a misdemeanor or felony. Using Texas as an example, common penalties include:
Additionally, other penalties such as the installation of an ignition interlock device, or even permanent revocation of driving privileges may result.
In addition to driving under the influence, other forms of intoxication manslaughter exist. For instance, operating a boat or plane while intoxicated could result in intoxication manslaughter charges if someone is killed.
If an individual was intoxicated while working on a roller coaster ride, and someone dies, they too may be charged with intoxication manslaughter. It is up to the state to define what constitutes this type of crime, and an attorney in your jurisdiction will be able to clarify your state’s laws.
If you have been charged with intoxication manslaughter, you should speak with a criminal defense attorney immediately. This is a serious criminal charge, and an experienced lawyer in your area will be able to advise you of your rights and your best course of action, put together your defense, and represent you in court.
Last Modified: 07-24-2018 01:04 AM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.