Nevada Second Degree Arson Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is First Degree Arson?
In Nevada, arson in the first degree is the malicious and willful burning, charring, or setting fire to a structure, person property, or building. Arson in the first degree is a category B felony. A person convicted of this crime may spend a minimum of two to 15 years in prison and pay a $15,000 fine. Arson in the second degree is a lower charge with a less harsh punishment, but it is still a serious crime.
What Is Second Degree Arson in Nevada?
A person is guilty of second degree arson when they maliciously and willfully set fire to, burn, or causes an abandoned structure or building to burn. A person who does not actually set the fire, but is an accomplice is guilty of second degree arson.
What Is an Accomplice?
An accomplice is someone who aids another in committing a crime, but does not actually commit the crime. For instance, they may be the getaway driver in a robbery. In Nevada, a criminal accomplice in an arson is one who:
- Aids, which may include giving items used to start the fire
- Counsels, or explains how to commit arson
- Procures, or finances the crime
What Is the Difference Between First and Second Degree Arson in Nevada?
With first degree arson, a person commits the crime on an inhabited or vacant, but not abandoned, structure or building. The person is also guilty of setting fire to person property of another individual. The second degree arson involves the burning or setting fire to any abandoned structure or building in Nevada.
What Kind of Crime Is Second Degree Arson?
Second degree arson is a category B felony, just like first degree arson. However, as previously mentioned, the punishment for second degree arson is not as severe as the punishment for first degree arson because the crime of second degree arson is not as serious. The punishment for second degree arson is:
- One to 10 years in prison
- $10,000 fine
Can a Lawyer Help Me?
Absolutely. Contact a Nevada lawyer immediately about getting the charged reduced or dismissed. Your lawyer will also explain your legal rights.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 11-11-2016 12:54 PM PST
Link to this page