Nevada First Degree Arson Attorneys
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is Arson?
Arson is the criminal act of maliciously and willfully charring or burning a structure or property. In general, to be charged with arson a person has to have either the intent or recklessness to set fire to a structure or property. They also have to cause some type of property damage to the property or structure. Nevada has four degrees of arson depending on the facts surrounding the burning or charring of property.
When Is a Person Guilty of First Degree Arson in Nevada?
First degree arson is the malicious and willful burning or setting fire to:
- An occupied or unoccupied dwelling house
- An occupied or unoccupied mobile home
- Any type of personal property occupied by one or more people
How Is “Set Fire” Defined in Nevada Criminal Law?
To set fire to a structure, building, or property in Nevada means to cause property to do the following:
Why Am I Accused of Arson If I Did Not Set Fire to Anything?
A person can be arrested for arson in the first degree even if they are merely an accomplice in the arson crime. They may have aided, financed, or counseled another in the burning of a structure, property, or personal property.
What Is the Penalty for Arson in the First Degree in Nevada?
First degree arson is a category B felony, which is punishable by:
- Two to 15 years in state prison
- $15,000 fine
- Fine and prison time
Should I Talk to a Criminal Attorney about My First Degree Arson Charge?
Yes. Discuss your arson in the first degree charge with a Nevada criminal attorney. Your attorney will work to get your charge reduced or dismissed. Your attorney will also work on all possible defenses pertinent to your case.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 11-09-2016 08:26 PM PST
Link to this page