A hit-and-run accident involves a person driving a vehicle colliding with a pedestrian or another vehicle and not stopping. In jurisdictions like Nevada, the law requires anyone who causes an accident to stop. What a person is supposed to after that depends on the circumstances surrounding the accident.
Will I Get into Legal Trouble If I Damage Property and Then Just Leave?
Yes. Nevada law requires a person who causes an accident and damages property to immediately notify the owner of the property of the damage. They must also claim responsibility for damage caused. If a person leaves the accident before notifying anyone of the accident, it is a misdemeanor hit-and-run.
Am I Responsible If I Cause Bodily Injury or Death and Leave the Scene?
Yes. A driver who causes an accident that results in at least one injury or death must provide the victim with help. This help may come in the form of calling police or emergency assistance.
What Is a DUI Hit-and-Run?
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs occurs when a person operates a motor vehicle while drunk or high. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level limit to operate a motor vehicle in Nevada is 0.08 percent. A hit-and-run occurs while a person who flees the scene of a crime is suspected of being under the influence when the accident occurred. A DUI hit-and-run may involve property damage or some kind of injury or death to a victim.
What Is the Criminal Punishment for a Misdemeanor Hit-and-Run in Nevada?
Fleeing the scene of a crime that causes property damage is a misdemeanor. The punishment a person faces is:
- Six months in county jail
- $1,000 fine
- Fine and county jail time
Should I Talk to an Attorney About My Hit-And-Run Charge?
Being involved in an accident is nerve-wrecking enough, and the last thing you need is to also be accused of is fleeing the scene after causing an accident. Contact a Nevada attorney immediately to learn more about how they can help you fight your hit-and-run charge.