A person can be charged with a hit-and-run when they leave a scene of an accident. The accident may or may not be caused by the person. In Nevada, a hit-and-run may be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident. According to state law, a person must notify the police when they have been involved in an accident.
What Is a Misdemeanor Hit-and-Run in Nevada?
A misdemeanor hit-and-run happens when a person leaves the scene of an accident. The person may or may not have caused property damage. The law requires a person to notify the owner of the property they have damaged during the accident. If the driver does not notify the owner, they can be accused of hit-and-run. Anyone found guilty of hit-and-run may face the misdemeanor punishment of:
- Six months in county jail and/or
- $1,000 fine
What Is Felony Hit-and-Run in Nevada?
A felony hit-and-run is a more serious charge than a misdemeanor. However, a felony hit-and-run is similar to the misdemeanor charge. A person is accused of fleeing the scene of an accident that they caused. However, a felony charge results when they cause serious bodily injury or death to a victim.
What Is Serious Bodily Injury?
Serious bodily injury is physical harm sustained that interferes with a person’s health, well-being, and comfort for a short period of time.
What Is the Punishment for Felony Hit-and-Run?
A felony hit-and-run is a category B felony. The punishment for this felony is:
- Eight to 20 years in state prison
- $10,000 fine
- Fine and prison time
Do I Need an Attorney to Represent Me in My Hit-and-Run Case?
It is vital to have a Nevada criminal attorney represent you in your hit-and-run case. Contact an attorney today and discuss possible defenses.