Harassment is a broad term to include criminal acts like stalking and trespass. Criminal harassment isn’t the same as civil harassment such as workplace harassment. Criminal harassment involves intentionally targeting someone by using behavior meant to annoy, alarm, terrorize, or torment them. The acts include threats to the victim and/or their family’s safety. Overall, state laws can vary regarding criminal harassment. The State of Washington has its own criminal harassment statute.
In Washington, harassment constitutes knowingly:
The State can charge a defendant with a misdemeanor or felony depending on the defendant’s criminal record. If the defendant was previously convicted of harassment or committed harassment in violation of a restraining order, you can be charged with a class C felony. The defendant can face up to 43 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If the defendant has no previous conviction of harassment and the current charge was not in violation of a restraining order, then the defendant can face up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
Yes. If convicted of harassment, the court may require the defendant to give a DNA sample for the State’s DNA identification system.
Yes. It’s important to be proactive in resolving your criminal charge by talking to a criminal lawyer about your case.
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 02:52 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.