If a person is convicted of a criminal act, they face a wide range of penalties. These penalties depend on the exact crime, circumstances of the case, and a person’s prior criminal record. In Nevada, anyone convicted of a crime will face a criminal punishment, such as incarceration, a fine, and/or probation.
What Is a Felony?
A felony charge is a more serious criminal charge. Punishment for a felony often includes time in prison, parole, probation, and/or extensive fines.
What Are the Felony Classifications in Nevada?
The state has five felony classifications, each with their own form of punishment:
- Class E: One to four years in prison and/or $5,000 fine
- Class D: 19 months to four years in prison and/or $5000 fine
- Class C: Two to five years in prison and/or $10,000 fine
- Class B: Eight to 20 years in prison and/or $10,000 fine
- Class A: Life in prison, death penalty, and fines
What Is a Misdemeanor?
A misdemeanor is a lesser criminal offense where a person may be punished with fines and/or jail time of a year or less.
What Categories Does Nevada Have for Misdemeanor Offenses?
Nevada has two types of criminal misdemeanors:
- Gross Misdemeanor
What Is the Punishment for a Misdemeanor in Nevada?
A regular misdemeanor is the lowest type of crime punishable under Nevada law. A person convicted of this type of misdemeanor will receive:
- Six months in county jail
- $1,000 fine
- Time in jail and a fine
What Is the Punishment for a Gross Misdemeanor in Nevada?
A gross misdemeanor is slightly more serious than a misdemeanor, but less serious than a felony. A person convicted of a gross misdemeanor will face:
- About one year in county jail
- $2,000 fine
- A fine and county jail time
Do I Need a Lawyer for My Criminal Charge?
Being convicted of a crime in Nevada will leave you not only with a punishment but also with a criminal record. Contact a Nevada criminal lawyer in Nevada if you are charged with any type of crime to see how you can defend yourself against the charge.