In Nevada, mayhem involves unlawfully depriving a victim of their body part, rendering a body part, or disfiguring them. Mayhem involves criminal acts like disabling a victim’s limb, cutting their tongue, or slitting their lip, nose, or ear. This crime is a category B felony. If convicted, a person can be sentenced to two to 10 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
What Is Battery in Nevada?
Battery is the non-consensual, willful, and unlawful use of violence or force against a victim.
What Is the Punishment for Battery in Nevada?
The crime of battery is a misdemeanor in the state of Nevada. Under Nevada law, the punishment for a misdemeanor is a six month jail sentence and a $1,000 fine. A battery can become more that a misdemeanor, however, if aggravating factors are present.
What Is Battery with the Intent to Commit Mayhem?
In Nevada, the intent to commit mayhem is considered an aggravating factor for the crime of battery. If this factor is present, then the crime is the non-consensual, unlawful, and willful use of violence or force committed with the intent to deprive the victim of their body part. Remember, the perpetrator must intend to commit mayhem when they are actually committing battery in order for this particular aggravating factor to exist.
Is Committing Battery with the Intent to Commit Mayhem a Felony?
A person who is found guilty of unlawfully and willfully harming someone without consent and causing mayhem is a category B felony. The punishment for this crime is:
- $10,000 fine
- Two to 10 years in prison
- Fine and time in prison
Can a Lawyer a Help Me with My Case?
When facing a felony charge, you will likely need professional help with defending yourself against the charge. A Nevada criminal lawyer can represent you in your criminal case and advise you of your legal rights.