Florida accidents can injure the mind, body and property. Defective merchandise, medicines/drugs or contact with toxic material are all accidents which may cause injuries. As a result, any lost wages or costs due to an injury may be recovered in court. Also covered by personal injury law are auto accidents, medical malpractice, and wrongful death.
A person must be careless to be responsible or “at fault” for an injury. Proof of negligence in Florida must be provided by witnesses, photographs, official reports, etc. Evidence of lost income or costs from the injury like hospital bills and pay stubs will also be needed in court.
The amount of time to file a claim for your injury is limited by law. In Florida, you must file with the court within 4 years of the accident. This period is known as the statute of limitations and means that cases older than 4 years can not be tried in court. Other common issues in personal injury cases are insurance companies who won’t pay severe injuries or a class action made up of many injured persons.
If you have been injured due to the action of another, you should consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer in Florida. Your lawyer will assess your case and help you receive compensation for your injuries.
Last Modified: 05-29-2018 11:31 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.