Every state in the U.S. has made it illegal to operate motor vehicles while under the influence of alcohol. In every state, the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% for ordinary, non-commercial vehicles.
For licensed drivers of commercial vehicles, the limit is usually much lower. In California, for example, the maximum blood alcohol level while driving a commercial vehicle is .04%. This is in keeping with the law of the majority of other states.
An arrest for driving a commercial vehicle under the influence in California results in an immediate administrative license suspension, which lasts, at least, until the end of the trial. If the defendant is found not guilty of DUI, their license is restored. If they are found guilty of drunk driving, it may be suspended for an additional period of time.
Almost every other state in the country also has an administrative license suspension for commercial vehicle drunk driving. A driver of a commercial vehicle convicted of a DUI can expect to lose his or her commercial driver’s license for at least a year, or longer if they were moving a hazardous substance. In addition, most states impose fines (usually up to $1,000 for a first offense), and add the possibility of jail time for multiple offenders.
Last Modified: 11-07-2016 08:13 PM PSTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.