Nevada Battery with a Deadly Weapon Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is Simple Battery?
In Nevada, simple battery is harmful contact done without the permission of the victim. The harmful contact causes minor injury to the victim. Simple battery is a misdemeanor in the state. It is punishable by six months in county jail and/or $1,000 fine. In some criminal cases, a judge may sentence a person to community service instead of jail time.
What Is the Crime of Battery with a Deadly Weapon in Nevada?
Battery with a deadly weapon is the non-consensual contact with a victim while using some instrument designed and created to cause serious injury or bodily harm. Non-consensual contact means making offensive contact or causing injury to a victim without their permission.
What Type of Instruments Are Considered Deadly Weapons?
Deadly weapons typically include firearms, such as shotguns and pistols. They also include:
- Baseball bats
- Brass knuckles
Is Assault with a Deadly Weapon the Same Charge as Battery with a Deadly Weapon?
No. Assault with a deadly weapon is a separate crime. That particular crime consists of either placing a person in fear of an imminent battery while using a deadly weapon or a failed attempt at committing a battery with a deadly weapon. In a battery with a deadly weapon case, a person actually causes physical harm to the victim while using a deadly weapon.
Is the Crime of Using a Deadly Weapon During a Battery a Misdemeanor?
No. It is true that simple battery without the use of a deadly weapon is a misdemeanor. However, the defendant used a deadly weapon to commit the battery, then the crime is a category B felony.
How Much Prison Time Do I Face If I Am Convicted?
It depends on if serious physical harm was done to the victim. If the victim did not suffer serious bodily harm, then the defendant faces:
- Two to 10 years in prison
- $10,000 fine
- Both a fine and prison time
If substantial bodily harm was done to the victim or the harm was caused by strangulation, then the punishment is:
- Two to 15 years in prison
- $10,000 fine
- A fine and prison time
Do I Need a Lawyer to Represent Me?
Fighting a felony charge on your own is incredibly difficult. Thus, it is recommended that you hire a Nevada lawyer to fight this charge for you. They can provided you with the assistance you need to properly defend yourself against a felony criminal charge.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 10-18-2016 10:32 AM PDT
Link to this page