Murder is homicide plus malice. This means an unlawful killing of a human being done with some form of intent.
The term “aggravated” refers to a crime being more serious in criminal sentencing and nature that it’s non-aggravated murder counterpart. Utah outlines nine ways a murder charge can be changed to aggravated murder:
Utah classifies murder in two ways: first degree murder or capital felony.
A capital felony refers to the defendant getting the death penalty for an aggravated murder conviction.
The aggravated murder felony carries a minimum mandatory of 25 years in Utah state prison. The maximum punishment is life without parole.
Whether a person is charged with capital felony and first degree felony depends on the circumstances surrounding the murder.
Yes, aggravated murder is one of the most serious charges in Utah. Talk to a Utah criminal lawyer about possible defenses.
Last Modified: 06-25-2018 02:43 AM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.