LGBT Rights in Oregon

Locate a Local Family Lawyer

Find Lawyers in Other Categories
Most Common Family Law Issues:

LGBT Rights in Oregon

Over the past 75 years, the American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon has worked diligently and has made major waves. Currently, Oregon recognizes equality and justice for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Allowance for Sodomy

In 1972, Oregon got rid of its law that punishes sexual activity between two persons of the same gender.

Recognition of Same-Sex Marriage

Although Oregon does not marry couples of the same sex, there is action at the ballots to change this. However, Oregon recognizes domestic partnerships of same sex couple. The state provides benefits to state employees in same-sex partnerships.

Oregon does currently recognize same-sex marriages from other states.

Adoption and Parenting

Same-sex couples are allowed to adopt children. Additionally, they have the option to be biological parents through surrogacy procedures such as in vitro fertilization and assisted insemination.

Discrimination Protection and Hate Crime Laws

Since 2008, Oregon banned discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity.

Gender Reassignment

As of January 2013, Oregon insurance providers must pay for all gender reassignment surgeries, including drugs and related treatments.

Consulting an Attorney

If you are a LGBT individual and believe that you have been deprived of your rights, then you need to contact an experienced civil rights lawyer. A lawyer will address any discrimination you faced and can prevent such discrimination from occurring again.

Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 04-24-2014 12:40 PM PDT

Find the Right Lawyer Now

Link to this page

Law Library Disclaimer

LegalMatch Service Mark