States where skiing is a popular sport, such as California, Colorado, Utah, and Vermont, have created special kinds of laws to protect resorts and their patrons from fraud. These laws make it a crime to try to ski or snowboard with a fake, stolen, borrowed, or even without a lift ticket, and are different from traditional theft or fraud crimes.
What Qualifies as a Ski Lift Ticket?
One reason this type of crime has required special enforcement is many different objects may qualify as a ski lift ticket. Depending on the resort, paper tickets, employee badges, pins, coupons, or other devices that allow their holder to use or enjoy a ski resort can all be considered ski lift tickets.
What Qualifies as Using a Fraudulent Ski Lift Ticket?
There several acts that constitute using a fraudulent ski lift ticket. Common acts include:
- Reselling, or offering to resell, a ski lift ticket without authorization from the resort
- Stealing another person's ski lift ticket and trying to use it at a ski resort
- Borrowing another person's ski lift ticket and trying to use it at a ski resort
- Manufacturing a fake ski lift ticket, and either using it at a ski resort or attempting to sell it to another.
- Using a resort's ski area without paying for use
What Penalties Can I Face for Fraudulent Ski Lift Tickets?
Each state has different penalties for using fraudulent ski lift tickets. Generally, penalties include:
- Fine: Ranging from $300 - $500
- Jail time: If available, it will likely not be longer than 1 year, or
- Both: It is possible to be faced with fines and jail time
Should I Speak with an Attorney?
If you are facing charges involving a fraudulent ski lift ticket, it is highly recommended that you contact an criminal attorney to explain your rights and help you form a strong defense.