Expungement for AdultsFor adult convictions, Colorado allows both misdemeanor and felony convictions to be sealed under certain circumstances. A waiting period is required (usually 10 years in Colorado) before a petition to seal the record may be filed.
Additionally, a criminal conviction may be reversed in cases where a mistake was made in the original ruling or when new evidence has become available to establish a defendant’s innocence.
Circumstances for Sealing Criminal RecordsIndividuals may file a petition to seal criminal records if:
- All charges against them were dismissed;
- The individual was acquitted;
- No charges were actually filed in court (only an arrest record remains);
- The case was dismissed as a result of a plea bargain agreement,at least 10 years have passed since the final disposition was entered, and the defendant has no further crimes charged against them.
- Fees or other types of restitution are still owed;
- The conviction was for certain types of crimes related to unlawful sexual conduct;
- The violation involves a traffic infraction.
Associated Fees and PaperworkThe fee for filing for a juvenile expungement is $20 per document. Filing fees for sealing adult records are $224.
All forms for expungement and sealing records in Colorado are available at any courthouse or online. Criminal convictions involving controlled substances require an entirely different set of forms.