The state of Washington allows some records of criminal convictions to be expunged or sealed. Expungement is referred to as “vacating a judgment” under Washington state laws. These statutes allow certain misdemeanors and felonies to be vacated if the offense qualifies and if certain provisions are met. When a record has been expunged, it is as if the person never committed the crime.
What Are the Requirements for Expungement?
Expungement eligibility is based on certain requirements, including:
- The person has completed their sentence
- The person has no pending criminal charges in Washington or any other state
- The record was for a juvenile conviction and the person is now at least 18 years old
- The person has spent a certain amount of time after the conviction without any other criminal convictions.
- Class B felonies: After 10 years
- Class C felonies: After 5 years
- Misdemeanors: After 2 years
- Gross Misdemeanors: After 3 years
- Other Juvenile Provisions: Juveniles may petition for expungement of Class A felonies after 5 years, and must only wait 2 years for Class B and C felonies, and misdemeanors.
It is worth noting that some offenses, particularly sex offenses, will not be eligible for expungement.