Communications and Media Lawyers

Locate a Local Business Lawyer

Find Lawyers in Other Categories
Most Common Business Law Issues:

Who Regulates the Communications and Media Industry?

The Federal Communications Commissions (FCC) regulates the United States communication and media industry. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.

What Are the Goals of the FCC?

The following are FCC goals affecting the communications and media industry:

What Is the Freedom of Information Act?

Congress enacted the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) in 1966 to give the American public greater access to the Federal Government's records. Congress amended the FOIA statute several times since then. Most recently, the Electronic Freedom of Information Act Amendments of 1996 (E-FOIA) expanded the scope of the FOIA to encompass electronic records and require the creation of "electronic reading rooms" to make records more easily and widely available to the public.

What Type of Information Is Available upon a FOIA Request?

Under the FOIA and the FCC's implementing rules, you are allowed to obtain copies of FCC records unless the records contain information that is exempt under the FOIA from mandatory disclosure.

The following categories of information are exempt from the Freedom of Information Act:

Do I Need a Communication and Media Attorney?

If you have a dispute with an entity in the communications and media industry you should contact the FCC and file a formal complaint. If the FCC is unable to resolve your dispute, you should consult with an attorney experienced in communications and the media.

Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 12-17-2013 11:47 AM PST

Find the Right Lawyer Now

Link to this page

Law Library Disclaimer

LegalMatch Service Mark