Child Endangerment Laws
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What are Child Endangerment Laws?
Child Endangerment laws make it a crime to endanger the health or life of a child through an adult's recklessness or indifference. Some states include child endangerment offenses in existing child abuse statutes. Other states made child endangerment a separate offense.
What are Examples of Child Endangerment?
The states differ as to what constitutes child endangerment, but some common examples include:
- Leaving a child unattended in a motor vehicle
- Driving while intoxicated with a child in the motor vehicle
- Hiring a person with a known history of sexual offenses as a childcare provider
- Serving alcohol to an underage driver
- Leaving a young child unsupervised or in the care of another young child
- Unreasonable corporal punishment resulting in bodily injury
- Drug manufacturing in the presence of a child
- Leaving a young child unsupervised in an unsafe area
- Failure to report suspected child abuse
What are the Penalties for Endangering a Child?
The penalties for endangering a child vary from state to state but can be very severe:
- California: Imprisonment for up to 6 years
- Illinois: Imprisonment for up to 10 years
- New York: Imprisonment for up to 1 year
- Texas: Imprisonment for up to 20 years
What Can you Do if you are Accused of Endangering a Child?
If you are accused of endangering a child, you should speak to a criminal defense lawyer immediately to learn more about your rights, your defenses and the complicated legal system.
Victims of Child Abuse
If you are a victim of Child Abuse, you should call the police. If there is sufficient evidence, the police will then forward your case to the District Attorney's office to prosecute the person who committed the child abuse against you.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 04-18-2011 09:35 AM PDT
Did you find this article informative?
Link to this page