Hit-and-run is the crime of fleeing the scene of an accident before exchanging information or notifying the proper people.
What Is Driving under the Influence?
Driving under the influence, or DUI, is the crime of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol.
How Is Hit-and-Run Defined in Nevada?
State law defines hit-and-run as fleeing the scene of an accident. Any driver in an accident that causes property damage must contact the owner and notify them of the accident. If the driver does not do this, then they have committed a misdemeanor.
How Does Nevada Define DUI?
In Nevada, DUI is defined as being in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Anyone over the legal limit of a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 percent is considered under the influence.
Why Am I Facing Two Separate Criminal Charges If I Fled the Scene of an Accident While Drunk?
Anyone accused of hit-and-run and DUI will face separate criminal charges even though they happened at the same time. Hit and run and DUI are two separate crimes, and will always be charged as separate crimes.
Can I Face Any Additional Criminal Charges for Leaving a Scene of an Accident While Drunk?
Yes. Depending on what happened during the accident, prosecutors may charge a person with hit-and-run, DUI, and:
- Vehicular homicide
- Causing bodily injury
- Reckless driving
What Is the Penalty for Hit-and-Run and DUI in Nevada?
The punishment for a misdemeanor hit-and-run with or without serious property damage is:
- Six months in county jail
- $1,000 fine
- Fine and county jail time
A misdemeanor DUI is punished by:
- 96 hours of community service
- 48 hours to six months in county jail
- $1,000 fine
- Suspended driver’s license for 90 days
Do I Need to Speak with an Attorney About My DUI Hit-And-Run?
Yes. Speak with a Nevada DUI/DWI attorney immediately if you are accused of DUI hit-and-run in Nevada. The attorney will help you determine how to proceed with the case.