In Texas, persons under 18 years of age may not get married unless special circumstances arise.
The general rule is that only persons 18 years of age or older may freely marry. The purpose of this rule is to protect minors from being forced into marriage and to ensure persons have reached a certain mental maturity before marrying.
Fortunately, Texas does make exceptions to their general age rule. Minors at least 14 years of age may get marry if they get parental consent. Parents and/ or guardians must give consent within 30 days prior to the minors applying for the marriage license.
A judge normally grants marriage licenses to persons who he believes to have parental consent, reached mental and financial capacity, are of a certain age, and the couple is not blood relative. Moreover, the couple does not need to meet all four factors for the judge to grant the marriage license.
Even if the minor does not obtain parental consent, they may still petition to the court for a marriage license, especially if they meet all of the requirements for emancipation. In those cases, a family law lawyer will help.
Although a lawyer is not needed to get a marriage license, complicated circumstances may require one. A Texas family law lawyer can advise the young couple prenuptial agreements, and alternative emancipation routes to take.
Last Modified: 06-06-2018 10:41 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.