Connecticut Age of Consent Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is the Age of Consent in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, the age of consent to engage in sexual activity is 16 years old. However, if the defendant holds a position of authority over the victim, such as a coach or teacher, then the age of consent rises to 18 years or older.
Like many states, the law only applies if there is a certain minimum age difference between the parties. In Connecticut, there will be no prosecution if both parties’ are less than 13 years of age and the ages are 2 years apart or less. Similarly, children over the age of 13 can legally consent with another person if both parties are no more than 3 years apart in age. Also, if one of the parties in Connecticut is over 18, he or she cannot legally have sex with someone who is under the age of consent, regardless of the age difference between them.
For instance, a 10 year old and an 11 year old can legally consent to sex with each other. Likewise, a 14 year old and a 17 year old could legally consent to sex with each other. However, when that 17 year old becomes 18 years, statutory rape would apply if that 18 year old had sex with the 14 year old.
Do I Need a Lawyer?
If you've had sexual relations with a minor, you may want to consult with an experienced Connecticut criminal attorney - use the "Find Lawyers" button above to arrange a meeting with a LegalMatch member attorney.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 01-15-2016 11:39 AM PST
Link to this page