Criminal harassment and domestic violence are common reasons why someone will seek a restraining order. The State of Washington has laws against a person violating the court order. In fact, the State imposes serious consequences on a defendant convicted of violating a restraining order.
A restraining order is an order of protection given by a court. The order will require a person to either act (i.e. take a route that will avoid the other person’s place of work) or not act (i.e. do not send messages or try to contact the other person).
Washington State considers it to be a restraining order violation when a defendant violates or ignores the requirements of the court order.
No. A first-time restraining order violation is charged as a gross misdemeanor. A gross misdemeanor is the most serious in the classification of misdemeanors.
A convicted defendant can face up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
If the defendant has two precious convictions for violating a restraining order, the State increases the charge to a class C felony. A defendant will face up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Community service and community supervision may also be a part of the punishment.
Yes. It’s vital for you to understand defenses available to you and your rights regarding the crime. Contact a criminal lawyer for help.
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 02:55 PM PDTLaw Library Disclaimer
We've helped more than 4 million clients find the right lawyer – for free. Present your case online in minutes. LegalMatch matches you to pre-screened lawyers in your city or county based on the specifics of your case. Within 24 hours experienced local lawyers review it and evaluate if you have a solid case. If so, attorneys respond with an offer to represent you that includes a full attorney profile with details on their fee structure, background, and ratings by other LegalMatch users so you can decide if they're the right lawyer for you.